Rowdy Crowds, Skinny Jeans and Where the Hell Did October Come From?

2 10 2008

So it’s Thursday. I’m sitting in the library at Indiana University’s School of Education, wondering where the week went. It’s not one of those weeks where there are large chunks of time I can’t account for, as there sometimes are when there are television marathons or inane projects that I get totally sucked into. It’s been a chock-full week, filled with car appointments (Oskar is totally better now, although I was worried there for a day or two), assignments to be written and graded, and some fun sprinkled in there for good measure.

Like Ray Lamontagne. There is something about that gruff-yet-velvety voice that is crazy good. His new CD, Gossip in the Grain, comes out later this month and his tour supporting said CD began in Indy on Tuesday. I checked it out with grad school friends and was blown away by how amazing the man is on stage. He’s quiet, not a lot of interaction with the crowd, but insaney passionate about his music. There were moments I thought his body might break apart from the sheer force of his performance.

The crowd, however, left something to be desired. It was a drinking venue, which some people seemed to equate with bar, and were constantly leaving their seats with empty cans and returning with full ones. It made for a lot of distraction – seriously, are you here to drink or here to listen to the man’s music? Lots of hooting and hollering as well, which I can handle to an extent but it did have moments of obnoxiousness. Perhaps this is a clue that I’m getting old: I preferred the Dar Williams crowd a few weeks ago.

I need to buy new clothes. Normally, this would be a good thing, especially since the reasoning behind the new purchasing of the clothes is that I’m now at my lightest weight in about a decade. Unfortunately, I am on a graduate school budget (read: $0), so I’m going to have to be picky and choosy about what I buy… I miss my job and real paycheck some days. Most days.

The weight loss is also interesting in how anti-climactic it was. I’m now at that weight I envisioned in my head as being the be-all, end-all. I would step on the scale, numbers would appear on the digital read out, I would celebrate. There would be music and ticker tape. Instead there was just the whirring of my laptop in the next room and me mumbling, “I thought this would feel… skinnier” to myself in the wee small hours of the morning.

Haven’t been doing that much knitting lately, which I need to remedy. Christmas is approaching and I’m beginning to freak out. Just a smidge. Working needle time in with the demands this semester has been tricky and I might have to resort to buying some gifts rather than making them. It was a good thought…

I’ve also been playing with the idea of a separate knitting blog, one just about my knitting. I think one of the problems with keeping everything in this, my general blog, is it gets overwhelming. I have all these ideas and no time to organize them. A separate blog might enforce some structure I don’t currently have…

Must work now.

Actions

Information

One response

8 10 2008
Becky

Yeah, the weight loss is usually sort of like that. You do all this work and then… well, you’re lighter… and your clothes fit better, but you really don’t feel that much different. You have to find ways to celebrate so you don’t feel like it wasn’t worth it. (I buy new clothes and then wear them to art shows. Whee!!!) It is fun.

I’ll have to check out Ray Lamontagne. He sounds cool!

Leave a Reply

