I Think I’m Turning Into a Morning Person

15 09 2008

Each morning, for the past two weeks, I’ve been waking up at 5:30 to get to the gym for 6:00. In the beginning, the sound of the alarm at such an hour was torture and directly in opposition to the night owl nature I inherited from both my parents. Two weeks into it, the early alarm isn’t quite as shocking and may have turned into something pleasant even. I welcome the early morning gym, filled with a select smattering of people who, like myself, can’t fit in exercise time anywhere else in their schedule save for these wee small hours of the morning. An hour on the elliptical later and I’m on my way back home, where I make coffee while showering, read my blogroll over cereal, and find myself with plenty of time to fiddle before I actually need to be anywhere. I think this is what my stepfather always held over my head: this relaxed alertness waking early affords.

I think I like it and might become a morning person after all.

Actions

Information

One response

18 09 2008
Becky

Yeah, I can relate. I’m so not a morning person, but if I make it a priority to be in bed by 9, I can actually do it.

It’s kind of worth it when you actually have energy during the day because you worked out in the morning. It gets your metabolism fired up so you get more consistent energy throughout the day. I can definitely feel it when I skip my workout in the AM.

Leave a Reply

